The village of Voritsi or Vorou is a picturesque village of the Municipality of Hersonissos after the village of Ano Gouves, built at an altitude of 230 meters and is 25 km from Heraklion. It is a beautiful, small village built in an amphitheatrical position between vineyards and olive groves with a magnificent view of the Cretan Sea.
At the entrance of Voritsi, there is the central square of the village and a little bit further, there is another beautiful spot of the village. It is a stone fountain from a natural spring and around it, the old stone troughs are preserved in which the women of the village used to wash their clothes and the animals drank water. From this point, the visitor can enjoy the magnificent view of the sea and of the Ederi Hill in a lush landscape of mulberry trees, plane trees, pine trees and bougainvilleas. In addition, the visitor can take a tour in the stone-paved alleys of the village with the traditional houses and visit the church of Agia Marina, which is the parish church of the village and celebrates on 17th of July. Every year, the Cultural Association of Voritsi "Agia Marina" organizes a feast with live music, traditional dishes and dancing for locals and visitors on the day of the celebration of Agia Marina.
West of the village, there is the monastery of Agios Georgios of Kavos, which was a refuge for eremites mainly during the Venetian domination. It was a monastic fortress dating back to 1851 AD built on a hill with panoramic view. From this monastic complex, today, only the church and the central entrance are in good condition while cell ruins on the north side of the complex are preserved. Also, a beautiful park with pine trees has been formed in the surrounding area of the monastery. From this point, visitors can also see Richtra, a hill in the west of the village, where a beautiful waterfall of 25m is formed, which is fed by a nearby water spring.
Near the village of Voritsi, 1.5 kilometer northeast of the village, the Monastery of Kera Eleousa is located. It is a Venetian monastery founded in 1606 in the ruins of an older temple and is a part of the monastery of Agarathos.